Author Topic: K1200 speed sensor  (Read 2460 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Squadron Leader

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1200LT
  • Location:: Brackley, Northants
K1200 speed sensor
« on: May 06, 2015, 05:56:36 pm »
When I put my K1200 LT into reverse gear, it goes for about a metre then stops. I have to press the button again and it moves another metre and so on.

After a trawl on the web, I find out it is the speed sensor that needs changing. Has anyone here changed theirs? If so, where is it located on the bike and how easy is it change?

Thanks,

Phil

Offline Timbox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 610
  • Karma: +18/-1
    • View Profile
  • Location:: South Wales
Re: K1200 speed sensor
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2015, 06:16:02 pm »
sorry had to remove this, I might be wrong, but im sure its either on the FD or the caliper, but you may have both in which case Im not sure which is which
« Last Edit: May 06, 2015, 06:22:05 pm by Timbox »
Isnt it Ironic, no its a BMW what dya expect.

Offline Niall

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: 08 K12GT SE
  • Modifications and add-ons:: More lights than a mod scooter
  • Location:: Horndean
Re: K1200 speed sensor
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2015, 03:03:08 pm »
After a trawl on the web, I find out it is the speed sensor that needs changing.

Does it? I'm sure that's how all my LTs behaved. Reverse uses the starter motor as I recall - so driven by the battery. Could that be why it only goes a bit at a time? To stop buggering the battery?
Sospes persantas? Age! Fac ut diem...

Offline Squadron Leader

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1200LT
  • Location:: Brackley, Northants
Re: K1200 speed sensor
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2015, 09:03:52 pm »
Interesting. This is my first LT so I don't know any different. I was posing the question as I thought it was normal to just move back a metre or so, but not, according to other LT owners. Yes it is driven off the starter motor and the revs rise whilst reversing to put more charge to the starter motor.
So. Back to my original question. Where is the speed sensor located?

Offline Timbox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 610
  • Karma: +18/-1
    • View Profile
  • Location:: South Wales
Re: K1200 speed sensor
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2015, 10:00:04 pm »
Interesting. This is my first LT so I don't know any different. I was posing the question as I thought it was normal to just move back a metre or so, but not, according to other LT owners. Yes it is driven off the starter motor and the revs rise whilst reversing to put more charge to the starter motor.
So. Back to my original question. Where is the speed sensor located?

See my reply above, on the Final Drive or possibly caliper.
Isnt it Ironic, no its a BMW what dya expect.

Offline Niall

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: 08 K12GT SE
  • Modifications and add-ons:: More lights than a mod scooter
  • Location:: Horndean
Re: K1200 speed sensor
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2015, 08:15:02 am »

So. Back to my original question. Where is the speed sensor located?

darkest recesses of memory - sure its down the back, on the final drive somewhere. on my 99, it failed because the cable was cut. The cable ties securing it from new had been over tightened

By the way, www.bmwlt.com is good source for the K12LT. It used to be only K12LT, then expanded into other bikes, covered the slant engines and on to K16.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2015, 08:17:25 am by Niall »
Sospes persantas? Age! Fac ut diem...

Offline Phmode

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9628
  • Karma: +78/-17
  • I am the evil webmaster, do not cross me!
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: BMW K1300S 2012
  • Modifications and add-ons:: Sargent Seat, Powerbronze Screen, Akrapovic Silencer, Ilmberger Hugger, K12S Black Top Yoke, Helibars, Cruise, Centre Stand, Sidestand Extender, Full 3M Film, Barkbusters Hand Guards in winter.
  • Location:: Ledbury, Herefordshire
Re: K1200 speed sensor
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2015, 11:32:10 am »
If this is off the same bike then it suggests it is on, or is attached to, the transmission unit.

http://store.bmwmcgr.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=1008

Brian (who wouldn't know an LT if it hit him so ignore everything he says  ;D )

Offline Squadron Leader

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1200LT
  • Location:: Brackley, Northants
Re: K1200 speed sensor
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2015, 09:43:48 pm »
Thanks for the help everyone. Found it now. Replacement costs a tad over one hundred pounds.!! 

I think I'll stick with the one that has been on it since new.

Many thanks,

Phil