Author Topic: K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?  (Read 228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Frank The Alien

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
  • Modifications and add-ons:: None
  • Location:: Waterloo, Liverpool
K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?
« on: February 09, 2024, 08:00:07 am »
Morning All, after some advise pleae...

My quickshifter has stopped working, I've tried various methods suggested to have it start up again (going through the gears and counting to 10 etc) (other than visit a dealer)

Can I remove it easily ? and if so how please ?

Many thanks

Stu
Stu

Offline black-k1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1991
  • Karma: +23/-2
  • An Original Old Git.
    • View Profile
    • The Old Gits
  • My K bike model:: ex K1200S, K1300S Sport & K1300S Motorsport owner. Now a Kawasaki H2 SX SE owner
  • Modifications and add-ons:: Upgrade to Kawasaki H2 SX SE! Almost 220bhp at the wheel! BST Carbon wheels and Sargent seat
  • Location:: Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, UK
Re: K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2024, 08:27:35 am »
What are you looking to remove?  If the electronics aren't doing their bit then gear change operation is manual anyway!
Correct rear brake use is scientifically proven to shorten stopping distances in EVERY road situation.

European Motorcycle Tours since 1998
The Old Gits - www.old-gits.org

Offline raesewell

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5994
  • Karma: +55/-4
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: Yamaha FJR (2013)
  • Location:: Normanton West Yorkshire
Re: K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2024, 08:45:38 am »
If you put your location in your profile there maybe someone nearby that may be able to help.

Offline Phmode

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11868
  • Karma: +90/-19
  • I am the evil webmaster, do not cross me!
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: BMW K1300S 2012
  • Modifications and add-ons:: Sargent Seat, Powerbronze Screen, Akrapovic Silencer, Ilmberger Hugger, K12S Black Top Yoke, Helibars, Cruise, Centre Stand, Sidestand Extender, Full 3M Film, Barkbusters Hand Guards in winter.
  • Location:: Ledbury, Herefordshire
Re: K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2024, 08:59:45 am »
If you mean 'remove the vertical(ish) linkage that has the micro-switch thingy in it' then you won't be able to change gear without it. The gear change foot lever is not connected anything if you remove the linkage.

As David says, without the electrics/electronics, the change is simply normal manual shift.

In 10 years in this forum yours is the first I have heard of this failing. Brian

Offline richtea

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4290
  • Karma: +47/-3
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
  • Location:: Banburyshire
Re: K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2024, 09:09:05 am »
I've had the same issue in my time. It was the gear shift potentiometer.
See this thread:
https://eurokclub.bike/index.php?topic=4707.0

And the list of other symptoms I had:
- the gear indicator is bit random as you let the clutch out - 4-2-6. It does settle on the right gear after 0.5-1.0 second
- neutral no longer shows, but you can select it (with care since you're not quite sure)
- bike won't start unless you pull in the clutch

£85 + labour in 2021.

Offline Frank The Alien

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
  • Modifications and add-ons:: None
  • Location:: Waterloo, Liverpool
Re: K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2024, 10:48:31 am »
I've added profile - location etc - not been on here for a long while so must have dropped off.

I'm thinking of part x ing bike - but they will not take it with the quickshifter noy working - hence the question about removing  it, rather than paying a dealer.

THanks for the responses.

Stu
Stu

Offline richtea

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4290
  • Karma: +47/-3
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
  • Location:: Banburyshire
Re: K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2024, 11:11:10 am »
Print off the vital bits of the thread, show them and sell it to them for £200 off. Done.

Offline black-k1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1991
  • Karma: +23/-2
  • An Original Old Git.
    • View Profile
    • The Old Gits
  • My K bike model:: ex K1200S, K1300S Sport & K1300S Motorsport owner. Now a Kawasaki H2 SX SE owner
  • Modifications and add-ons:: Upgrade to Kawasaki H2 SX SE! Almost 220bhp at the wheel! BST Carbon wheels and Sargent seat
  • Location:: Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk, UK
Re: K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2024, 11:22:06 am »
I've added profile - location etc - not been on here for a long while so must have dropped off.

I'm thinking of part x ing bike - but they will not take it with the quickshifter noy working - hence the question about removing  it, rather than paying a dealer.

THanks for the responses.

Stu

I can only assume it's not a BMW dealer you're looking at part exchanging with but it's still worrying that the dealer is buying the bike without actually understanding that the quick shifter is not an "add on", but that it's actually integral with the bike!  :(
Correct rear brake use is scientifically proven to shorten stopping distances in EVERY road situation.

European Motorcycle Tours since 1998
The Old Gits - www.old-gits.org

Offline andym2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
  • Location:: Stratford on Avon (District, the town is 'Upon' )
Re: K1300S Quickshifter Not working ...... can I remove it easily?
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2024, 04:29:08 pm »
The quick shifter was an option on early K13s, so I guess you could replace the linkage with the 'non qs' version, then use MotoScan to turn the QS feature off. If the problem is the potentiometer though you'll still get the wrong gear displaying in the dash.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/115997995989