Author Topic: Oil leak from top engine cover (2013 K1300S)  (Read 11811 times)

Offline Bian2512

• View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
Oil leak from top engine cover (2013 K1300S)
« on: March 15, 2018, 01:38:41 pm »
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to BMW ownership, so be gentle with me please. I'd like to pick your brains about an oil leak, that is coming from the top cover seal (rocker cover?) whilst the bike is running. The oil appears to be coming out in small squirts, with bubbles or air coming out as-well. Ive also been told the gasket is rubber, and can be re-used, and also its not common for these to leak. I know the engine is cocked forward instead of upright, so the oil is more likely to be in that area anyway, but any advice from you guys would be much appreciated. My main concern is the air/bubbles. Could it be pressurized, due to another fault?
Regards
Bian

Offline Eyore

• View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1200S
  • Modifications and add-ons:: Lots of Polish. Titax levers. GPR end can.R&G Protectors, carbon fibre bling, Tom Tom mount,daytime led lights.Low seat.Oberon clutch slave cylinder.Airblade DB screen,fender extender.Michael Dunlop sticker.
Re: Oil leak from top engine cover (2013 K1300S)
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2018, 02:47:18 pm »
Sounds to me as if whoever had the rocker cover off, presumably to check valve clearances, may have pinched the gasket .
The fastest Pizza delivery bike in the west.

Offline Costas

• Riders drive K, a Hawk flies, both are fast
    • View Profile