Author Topic: TPMS replacement  (Read 3951 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline richtea

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4466
  • Karma: +48/-3
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
  • Location:: Banburyshire
TPMS replacement
« on: October 06, 2022, 10:25:50 pm »
[A new thread to avoid polluting Martin's nice K1200S thread]

both my TPMS units (and Martin's) are failing gracefully, by randomly not reporting the typre pressure. There's no warning, the measurement just disappears. And then comes back. This is at 22k miles and 6 years old - not very good.

Are they covered by warranty? I'll tell you tomorrow-ish.

Assuming not, what to replace them with:
- genuine BMW:
couldn't find them online.

- Motorworks
https://www.motorworks.co.uk/tyre-pressure-sensor-and-valve-wha94420-3.html

Amazon:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Pressure-Monitoring-36318532731-K1600GT-2004-2014/dp/B08D8T9YCV
(1300 not list for some reason. Odd) or
https://www.amazon.co.uk/SKUNTUGUANG-Pressure-Motorcycle-36318532731-3631-8532-731/dp/B08KT5RHJY/ref=sr_1_17

- eBay
https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2334524.m570.l1313&_nkw=K1300S+TPMS

- AliExpress
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005001839399691.html?spm=a2g0o.productlist.0.0.2b1732cc1Mpptd

Lastly, maybe consder replacing the batteries. Some useful videos of how to here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mpjz0cDjnK4&t=6s
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJwOydKrH4E
etc...


All advice welcome.

Offline andym2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S & K1600GT
  • Location:: Stratford on Avon (District, the town is 'Upon' )
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2022, 03:09:49 am »

Offline Swindon Andy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S Motorsport
  • Modifications and add-ons:: Straight bar conversion, HID dip, clear front indicators, LED rear indicators, TomTom mount, top box (on rare occasions)
  • Location:: Near Swindon
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2022, 07:57:01 am »
Not the cost effective way, but I had a TPMS supplied and fitted by Cotswold Motorrad. The original developed giving on and off readings, finally none at all. The front one is the original, still going strong.

Offline richtea

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4466
  • Karma: +48/-3
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
  • Location:: Banburyshire
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2022, 09:51:43 am »
Not the cost effective way, but I had a TPMS supplied and fitted by Cotswold Motorrad. The original developed giving on and off readings, finally none at all. The front one is the original, still going strong.

Ah - under warrranty, or you using your own Swindon tokens*?
And if so, how much?

Thanks...





*courtesy of https://rarecoinsandtokens.co.uk

Offline fjtwelve

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1452
  • Karma: +15/-1
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: Night Black K1200S 2008, Motorsport K1300S 2016
  • Modifications and add-ons:: K1200S: Low seat, Kahedo seat, full Akrapovic system, BSD remap, LED headlight bulbs, Pazzo levers, slate grey wheels, MRA Vario touring screen with inverted spoiler, RAM phone mount, RG crash bungs; Bagster tank bag & BMW large soft bag & BMW expanding panniers shared between bikes; K1300S LED headlights, RAM phone mount
  • Location:: Falmouth, mostly
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2022, 12:38:17 pm »
The TPMS parts are listed as NLA no longer available. Bit of tinternet hunting coming up. And the abs sensor retaining bolt was seized in so need a new one of those as it hasn't survived the extraction process.
The current part number listed by BMW will provide a 2 piece (sensor and valve separate) kit. The original kit is in one piece and is not available from BMW. I have just sourced a one piece unit from Motorworks here https://www.motorworks.co.uk/tyre-pressure-sensor-and-valve-wha94420-4.html. Yeah, £ouch.

You can see the different types here https://shop.maxbmw.com/fiche/DiagramsMain.aspx?vid=51576&rnd=09082020
« Last Edit: October 07, 2022, 01:38:10 pm by fjtwelve »

Offline richtea

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4466
  • Karma: +48/-3
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
  • Location:: Banburyshire
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2022, 04:44:54 pm »
BMW confirmed they are not covered by my extended warranty. Pretty disappointing for a useful bit of safety equipment.
They also gave me a price - £111 each (plus several sundries) which approximately matches the Motorworks price of £131.

I'll not embarrass BMW by saying how much their quote was for the parts & labour, but let's just say it makes their 6k service look extraordinarily good value.

So, here's the plan:
1. Buy two cheapies off Amazon
2. Practice battery replacement (as shown by YouTube) on one of the cheapies
3. At the next tyre swap, get the Amazon ones fitted (I presume this is possible by Wheelhouse - they just screw in, right?)
4. Replace the batteries on the BMW ones
5. Pop refreshed BMW ones on shelf and wait for cheapie Amazon ones to fail
6. Put BMW with their fresh batteries back in

The only questions now are:
- has anyone bought 3rd party ones?
- are there different types/shapes? One of the Amazon reviews suggests there may be:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Pressure-Monitoring-36318532731-K1600GT-2004-2014/dp/B08D8T9YCV
'used two of them in my K1600 GTL Exclusive. CAUTION This is not made for these wheels I didn’t want to wait for the right ones so I ordered these and drilled out the stem. They are made by Same company BMW uses.

Offline Phmode

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12140
  • Karma: +90/-19
  • I am the evil webmaster, do not cross me!
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: BMW K1300S 2012
  • Modifications and add-ons:: Sargent Seat, Powerbronze Screen, Akrapovic Silencer, Ilmberger Hugger, K12S Black Top Yoke, Helibars, Cruise, Centre Stand, Sidestand Extender, Full 3M Film, Barkbusters Hand Guards in winter.
  • Location:: Ledbury, Herefordshire
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2022, 07:22:14 pm »
Lots of historic stuff in here about the cheap ones being A-OK. They need to be coded from memory.

Tom L did some stuff on them I think, or maybe it was coding second sets of wheels.

Someone did a write up for sure.

Offline andym2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S & K1600GT
  • Location:: Stratford on Avon (District, the town is 'Upon' )
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2022, 10:05:50 pm »
The different types are probably for the K13s (like mine) that have the valve that comes out sideways in one of the spokes. That sort of sensor is attached to the wheel with a aluminium bolt with a hole down the middle.

I've got a spare wheel you can try the sort you've got in if you like, and always happy to remove/re-fit tyres if you don't want to wait for the next change. And you might remember I've got one of those sensor wake up tools too, to make it easier to code them to the bike....

Offline Swindon Andy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 366
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S Motorsport
  • Modifications and add-ons:: Straight bar conversion, HID dip, clear front indicators, LED rear indicators, TomTom mount, top box (on rare occasions)
  • Location:: Near Swindon
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2022, 08:03:46 am »
Not the cost effective way, but I had a TPMS supplied and fitted by Cotswold Motorrad. The original developed giving on and off readings, finally none at all. The front one is the original, still going strong.

Ah - under warrranty, or you using your own Swindon tokens*?
And if so, how much?

Thanks...


I have a vague memory of high cost of around the £110 mentioned. Not covered on extended warranty.

Offline armstrongracer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 294
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300s, KTM 950sm, some racing stinkwheels.
  • Location:: Dublin, Ireland
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2022, 04:58:29 pm »
My front one regularly goes AWOL on long rides, invariably when its cold and or wet for some reason. Is that more likely to be battery needs replacing or the reader?

Offline richtea

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4466
  • Karma: +48/-3
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
  • Location:: Banburyshire
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2022, 08:52:24 am »
The different types are probably for the K13s (like mine) that have the valve that comes out sideways in one of the spokes. That sort of sensor is attached to the wheel with a aluminium bolt with a hole down the middle.

I've got a spare wheel you can try the sort you've got in if you like, and always happy to remove/re-fit tyres if you don't want to wait for the next change. And you might remember I've got one of those sensor wake up tools too, to make it easier to code them to the bike....

That's very kind of you, Andy. I may well take you up on that. Oddly, on the last ride, both front and rear read fine, but I'll keep an eye on them.

Offline Steve CH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: 2012 K1300S
  • Location:: near Geneve
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2022, 01:37:35 pm »
TPMS sensors come in two frequencies 315 Mhz and 433Mhz, BMW as far as I can see use 433Mhz for all their vehicles.
The sensors need to be programmed to the communication protocol used by your vehicle only done by a specialist, unless purchased pre programmed.
I bought 4 TPMS for my wife's X1 at 34 Euro each pre programmed, once fitted a reset of the system was required very easy on the car but I imagine that you need an external programmer to reset the bike.
Hope this was useful
Steve
Some mistakes are too much fun to make only once

Offline richtea

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4466
  • Karma: +48/-3
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S
  • Location:: Banburyshire
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2022, 04:42:32 pm »
Thanks Steve, I'll bear that in mind when I purchase.
Is there any indication of the type on the outside?

Offline Steve CH

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: 2012 K1300S
  • Location:: near Geneve
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2022, 08:29:52 pm »
I don't remember any markings on the device, I kept the box for reference, it has a 13 digit code which I assume is a stock number. After all apart from some mechanical differences they are all the same  until you program them.

Steve
Some mistakes are too much fun to make only once

Offline andym2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
  • My K bike model:: K1300S & K1600GT
  • Location:: Stratford on Avon (District, the town is 'Upon' )
Re: TPMS replacement
« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2022, 12:36:43 pm »
The sensors are 433. You can actually see them using an SDR (Software Defined Radio... e.g. A PC app that uses a DTV dongle to pickup all sorts of radio signals). https://www.rtl-sdr.com/about-rtl-sdr/

If there's no sticker on the sensor, or you didn't note it before fitting, a GS911 will detect it if you can wake it up. The £10 wake up tools you can get on Amazon work fine.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2022, 12:41:42 pm by andym2 »